HSK levels explained: what each level tests and how many words it assumes
The HSK is the Chinese proficiency test run by Chinese Testing International (CTI). Its level pages on chinesetest.cn describe six separate tests, HSK 1 to HSK 6, and one combined test for levels 7 to 9. You register for one level at a time; nothing obliges you to start at level 1.
The six levels and HSK 7–9 side by side
| Level | Sections | Questions | Test time | Full score | Pass mark | Vocabulary |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HSK 1 | Listening, reading | 40 | about 40 minutes | 200 | 120 | 150 words |
| HSK 2 | Listening, reading | 60 | about 55 minutes | 200 | 120 | 300 words |
| HSK 3 | Listening, reading, writing | 80 | about 90 minutes | 300 | 180 | 600 words |
| HSK 4 | Listening, reading, writing | 100 | about 105 minutes | 300 | 180 | 1,200 words |
| HSK 5 | Listening, reading, writing | 100 | about 125 minutes | 300 | not stated | 2,500 words |
| HSK 6 | Listening, reading, writing | 101 | about 140 minutes | 300 | not stated | 5,000 or more words |
| HSK 7–9 | Listening, reading, writing, translation, speaking | 98 | about 210 minutes | five section scores | level result | 11,000 words |
Test times include five minutes for filling in personal information. The level pages for HSK 5 and HSK 6 give the full score of 300 and do not name a pass mark. HSK 7–9 is one paper: it reports five section scores and a level evaluation result instead of a single pass line.
Who each level is written for
The level pages describe HSK 1 and HSK 2 as tests for beginners with basic listening and reading skills. HSK 3 adds basic writing. HSK 4 is aimed at intermediate learners with a solid base in listening, reading and writing, and HSK 5 and HSK 6 at intermediate learners and proficient users. HSK 7–9 is described as an advanced test, for example for international students on master's and doctoral programmes in China, students majoring in Chinese, and people who use Chinese in research or professional exchange.
What HSK 3.0 changes in the word counts
A new syllabus, published by the Center for Language Education and Cooperation in November 2025 and marked as in force from July 2026, underlies HSK 3.0. Its numbered vocabulary list runs to 11,000 words: 300 at level 1, 500 by level 2, 1,000 by level 3, 2,000 by level 4, 3,600 by level 5, 5,400 by level 6 and 11,000 by levels 7–9. We counted those totals from the serial numbers in the syllabus itself. CTI has announced that HSK 3.0 starts worldwide on 13 December 2026.
The HSK levels section sets the two sets of figures side by side, and the level finder shows the level that official documents name for each study goal.
Questions people ask
How many HSK levels are there?
The level pages on chinesetest.cn list seven tests: HSK 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6, and one combined test for levels 7 to 9. The site describes the new HSK as a "Three Stages, Nine Levels" framework.
What is the pass mark for HSK 4?
HSK 4 is scored out of 300 and the level page gives 180 as the pass mark. The score report shows listening, reading, writing and a total.
How long is an HSK score valid?
Each level page says HSK scores are valid for two years, counted from the test date.
Do I have to pass HSK 1 before taking HSK 3?
The registration rules list no such condition. You choose the test type, date and test centre when you register.
Sources: HSK on the Chinese Tests Service Website and its level pages (HSK 1 to HSK 6, HSK 7–9); HSK Test Syllabus, Center for Language Education and Cooperation; notice on the launch of HSK 3.0. Checked 11 October 2026. This page is an unofficial summary and is not published by CTI.